

**BY-LAW NO. 2013-23** 

# BEING A BY-LAW TO APPOINT A COMMITTEE OF ADJUSTMENT FOR THE TOWNSHIP OF NAIRN AND HYMAN

**WHEREAS** it is deemed expedient to appoint a Committee of Adjustment, as provided for in Section 44 (1) of the Planning Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.13, as amended;

**AND WHEREAS** Section 44 (3) of the Planning Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.12, as amended states that the members of the committee who are not members of a municipal council shall hold office for the term of the council that appointed them and the members of the committee who are members of a municipal council shall be appointed annually;

**AND WHEREAS** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman deems it advisable and expedient to establish a Committee of Adjustment;

**NOW THEREFORE** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman **HEREBY ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:** 

### 1. Authority

a) The Committee of Adjustment for the Corporation of the Township of Nairn and Hyman shall have all statutory duties listed under Sections 44 and 45 of the Planning Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter P.13, as amended.

## 2. Composition of the Committee

a) That the following members of Council shall be appointed to the Township of Nairn and Hyman Committee of Adjustment for a term to expire December 31, 2013.

Laurier Falldien, Rod MacDonald, Brigita Gingras, Ed Mazey and Charlene Y. Martel.

### 3. Term of Office

- a) The members of the committee shall be appointed annually.
- b) Should a Council member's seat become vacant, his/her seat on the committee shall also become vacant and the individual filling the said Council vacancy shall fill the vacancy on the committee.
- c) The Committee members shall elect one of themselves as Chair, and when the chair is absent, the Committee may appoint another member to act as acting chair.

# 4. Secretary-Treasurer

a) The Committee members shall appoint a Secretary Treasurer.

### 5. Meetings and Minutes

- a) The Committee shall hold meetings as is necessary, according to the submission of applications for minor variances and shall forward to Council all decisions and minutes of their meeting.
- b) A quorum, consisting of three (3) members appointed to this Committee, is required before a meeting of the Committee can begin.
- c) In the conduct of Committee business all members of the Committee shall have equal voting rights, including the Chairperson and abide by the Council Procedural By-law established for the conduct of meetings.

#### 6. Tariff of Fees

- a) Minor variance applications made pursuant to the Planning Act, R.S.O. 1990,
  c. p.13, as amended, shall be subject to the tariff of fees as set out by the tariff of tees by-law adopted by Council.
- 7. That any by-law inconsistent with this by-law shall be hereby repealed.
- 8. That this by-law shall come into force and take effect immediately upon the final passing thereof.

Read a first and second time this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of June, 2013.

Read a third time and passed in open Council this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of June, 2013.

(Original Signature on File)	
Mayor	
(Original Signature on File)	
Clerk	